DESIGN ADVANTAGE

“Designing a product is designing a relationship.”

Steve Rogers

Frequently we hear that “design is a matter of taste and that tastes tend to differ”. Design is then reduced to something that is nice to look at, which isn’t something which can be easily grasped. If you ask customers whether design is important to them, the answer is yes. And frequently design is shrugged off as less relevant.

In the process, it is overlooked what role design has for communication and the consolidation of unconscious drivers of purchase and loyalty. A convincing design language supports identification with the product and the brand. It communicates the fundamental benefits of the product and highlights its credibility as well as constituting its visibility at POS.

Factores of success for Behavioural Design

If you see design not as an individual task per product but develop a design strategy, which communicates the brand values across all products, you’ll have a sustainable advantage over your competitors.

Design

Identification

Is the brand clearly recognisable from the design language?

Differentiation

Does the design differ enough from the competition to be distinguishable?

Saliency

Does the design wins recognition within the competitive setting?

Functional Associations

Does the design emphasise the fundamental product characteristics for this product?

Emotional Associations

What emotional association does the design trigger?

Do you want a design which your customers just won’t be able to resist?

What we do:

We’ll see you through the process of developing a strategic and sustainably reproducible design.

Starting point: The brand

What impact do I want to achieve with the product design? What behavioural strategies could support this objective?

Design Effect of the Current Design

Quantitative measurement of the five design effects and the active behavioural effects for the own product design and / or the competition.

Result Reflection & Co-Creation

A collective reflection of the results from the quantitative phase. Deriving behavioural economic challenges, risks and chances. Identification of the objectives for the subsequent co-creation phase.

Development of the New Product Design

Development of new design ideas in co-creation sessions with consumers, whereby potential behavioural strategies are tested and evaluated. The ideas, developed within the sessions are visualised by designers.

Definition of the Design Guideline

In a closing strategy workshop the results are presented and then collectively design and behaviour principles are compiled, which are lastingly decisive to the product design.

Implementation Tools

At the end of the project you can request to receive your own specifically designed tools which make it easy for transferring the compiled knowledge sustainably into your company. By using canvasses, infographics, etc. results remain at the forefront with lasting effect, meaning that the realization can be reviewed a new day in, day out.

What you receive:

Configure an advantage over the competition with design

Clear recommendations to strategy & design development

Support with the implementation of the strategy

Design which supports the function

Design which creates identification

Our Toolbox:

Online Insight Communities + -

Via the online platform customers express and discuss their experiences in their natural setting. The intensive interaction (across multiple days) leads to an in-depth understanding of customer needs. Ideation challenges can be realised and the ideas enhanced further in iterations. This type of research is particularly good when the interaction with the product is at the forefront, and not just the optical design: Respondents receive the products to use at home, their experiences are recorded in a photo journal and then design alternatives are discussed with the other respondents in the forum.

Insight & Creative Workshops + -

Empathy Game Workshops with a hands-on character. Through the element of play participants find it easier to express their memories and attitudes. Psychological associative and projective techniques help too in exposing unconscious motives and needs. Questions are thereby explored in their entirety. These workshops are particularly suitable for B2B target groups, as they are compact timewise in their realisation, and are particularly good at unearthing the emotional side of scientifically or technically-minded professionals.

For design questions, we use this approach as an entry stage to the quantitative measurement but also for elaborating and reflecting possible new design characteristics. Practically, designers can find out in these workshops which different variations of their designs and design alternatives (colour, materiality, structure, language) have what effect on customers.

Quantitative Online Measurement + -

In as far as the nature of the product allows we use online data collection methods for measuring the design effects. If its decisive for the product / design to be seen live and to be touched the test design can be set up in a test studio. The questionnaire is completed by the respondent as a self-completion on a computer, without any influence of an interviewer bias. As we’re particularly interested in measuring the design effects and then secondly evaluating them, we use an implicit measurement process, such as the IAT (Implicit Association Test) and continuum scales for relative indexing of design perception within the competitor context.

DESIGN ADVANTAGE

“Designing a product is designing a relationship.”

Steve Rogers

Oftmals hört man „Design ist Geschmackssache und Geschmäcker sind nun mal verschieden.“ Damit wird dann Design auf ein ansprechendes Äußeres reduziert, das nicht wirklich zu greifen ist. Fragt man Kunden, ob ihnen Design wichtig ist, wird diese Sichtweise bestätigt. Mehr noch: Design wird oft als weniger relevant abgetan.

Dabei wird übersehen, welche Rolle Design für die Kommunikation und Stärkung unbewusster Kauf- und Loyalitätstreiber innehat. Eine überzeugende Designsprache unterstützt die Identifikation mit dem Produkt und der Marke. Sie kommuniziert die wesentlichen Benefits eines Produkts und unterstreicht damit die Glaubwürdigkeit, sie bildet die Grundlage für die Erkennbarkeit am POS.

Erfolgsfaktoren für Behavioral Design

Wenn man zudem Design nicht als Einzelaufgabe pro Produkt sieht, sondern eine Designstrategie entwickelt, welche die Werte der Marke über alle Produkte hinweg kommuniziert, entsteht ein Wettbewerbsvorteil, der Ihnen langfristig erhalten bleibt.

design

Identification

Ist der Absender des Designs in der Designsprache eindeutig erkennbar?

Differentiation

Unterscheidet sich das Design ausreichend vom Wettbewerb, um erkennbar zu sein?

Saliency

Setzt sich das Design im Wettbewerbskonzept durch?

Functional Associations

Unterstreicht das Design die für dieses Produkt wesentlichen Produkteigenschaften?

Emotional Associations

Welche emotionale Assoziation löst das Design aus?

Möchten Sie ein Design dem Ihre Kunden nicht wiederstehen können?

Unser Angebot:

Wir begleiten Sie bei der Entwicklung eines strategischen und nachhaltig reproduzierbaren Designs.

Ausgangspunkt Marke

Welche Wirkung möchte ich mit dem Produktdesign erzielen? Welche behavioralen Strategien können dieses Ziel unterstützen?

Designwirkung des aktuellen Designs

Quantitative Messung der fünf Design Effekte und der wirkenden behavioralen Effekte für das eigene Produktdesign und/oder der Wettbewerber.

Ergebnisreflexion & Co-Creation

Gemeinsame Reflexion der Ergebnisse aus der quantitativen Phase. Ableitung von verhaltensökonomischen Herausforderungen, Risiken und Chancen. Identifikation der Ziele für die folgende Co-Creation Phase.

Entwicklung des neuen Produktdesigns

Entwicklung neuer Designideen in Co-Creation Sessions mit Verbrauchern. Dabei werden potentielle behaviorale Strategien getestet und beurteilt. Die in den Sessions entwickelten Ideen werden dabei von Designern visualisiert.

Definition der Design Guideline

Im abschließenden Strategieworkshop präsentieren wir die Ergebnisse und erarbeiten gemeinsam Design- und Behavior-Prinzipien, die dauerhaft für das Produktdesign maßgeblich sind.

Implementation Tools

Am Ende des Projekts erhalten Sie auf Wunsch für Sie entwickelte Werkzeuge, die es einfach machen, die erarbeiteten Ergebnisse einfach und nachhaltig ins Unternehmen zu tragen. In Form von Canvases, Infografiken usw. bleiben die Erkenntnisse dauerhaft im Bewusstsein. Dadurch kann deren Umsetzung tagtäglich aufs Neue überprüft werden.

Ihr Ergebnis:

Fokussiert einen Wettbewerbsvorteil durch Design aufbauen

Klare Empfehlungen zur Strategy & Designentwicklung

Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung der Strategie

Design, das die Funktion unterstützt

Design, das Identifikation schafft

Unsere Toolbox:

Online Insight Communities + -

Über die Online-Plattform teilen Kunden ihre Erfahrungen und diskutieren über ihre Erlebnisse in ihrem natürlichen Umfeld. Die intensive Interaktion (über mehrere Tage) führt zu einem tiefen Verständnis der Kundenbedürfnisse. Auch Ideation Challenges lassen sich sehr gut umsetzen und die Ideen in Iterationen weiterentwickeln. Diese Form der Forschung bietet sich insbesondere an, wenn neben dem optischen Design auch die Interaktion mit dem Produkt im Vordergrund steht: Die Teilnehmer erhalten die Produkte zur Nutzung nach Hause, halten in einem Bildtagebuch ihre Erfahrungen fest und diskutieren im Forum mit den anderen Teilnehmern Designalternativen.

Insight & Kreativ Workshops + -

Empathy Game Workshops mit spielerischem Charakter. Das spielerische Element ermöglicht den Teilnehmern leichteren Zugang zu ihren Erinnerungen und Einstellungen. Zusätzlich helfen psychologische Assoziations- und Projektivtechniken unbewusste Motive und Bedürfnisse aufzudecken. Fragestellungen werden dadurch sowohl in die Breite als auch in die Tiefe exploriert. Diese Form eignet sich insbesondere auch für B2B Zielgruppen, da sie zeitlich kompakt durchführbar ist und sie gerade bei wissenschaftlich oder technisch geprägten Professionals auch die emotionale Seite zutage bringt. Für Designfragestellungen nutzen wir diesen Ansatz als Vorstudie für die quantitative Messung oder aber als Kreativworkshop zur Herausarbeitung und Reflexion möglicher neuer Designausprägungen. Konkret können Designer in diesen Workshops erfahren, welche unterschiedlichen Spielarten Ihres Designs und Designalternativen (Farbe, Materialität, Struktur, Formensprache) welche Wirkung beim Kunden entfalten.

Quantitative Online Measurement + -

Soweit die Natur des Produktes es zulässt, nutzen wir zur Messung der Designwirkung die Online-Datenerhebung. Wenn es entscheidend ist, das Produkt / Design in real zu sehen und anfassen zu können, werden die Testdesigns im Teststudio gezeigt. Der Fragebogen wird aber immer ohne Interviewbias durch den Probanden am Rechner ausgefüllt. Da wir insbesondere die Wirkung des Designs messen und erst an zweiter Stelle die Bewertung, nutzen wir implizite Messverfahren wie den IAT (Implicit Association Test) und Kontinuumskalen zur relativen Einordung der Designwahrnehmung im Wettbewerbskontext.

GRATIS
Whitepaper
Nutzen auch Sie die Vorteile von Behavior Economics und laden Sie sich unser Whitepaper herunter.
Wir mögen keinen Spam und werden Ihre Daten an keine Dritten weitergeben. Sie können sich auch jederzeit per aus der Liste wieder abmelden.